Amsterdam Neighborhood


It is with great pleasure that we announce at this time the award winners of the 2016 Amsterdam Film Festival Van Gogh Awards.

The contest received a wide variety of submissions representing top storytellers from over 20 countries around the world. The quality of the work that we had the honor of reviewing was simply astounding. Judging from among this exceptionally high caliber of filmmaking talent proved to be extremely difficult as there were so many unique, well-made and worthy projects. After several months of careful consideration, we present to you the very best of the 2016 competition.


De grote Prijs van de Jury: The Caravan Film directed by Margot McMaster
Cinematic Vision Award: Flowers directed by Sabina Sattar
Van Gogh Award: Perfect Strangers directed by Ryan Hendrick
Prodigy Auteur Prize: The Girl Next Door directed by Peter Mabrucco

Grand Jury Prize: Sidetracked directed by Francesco Bori
Grand Jury Prize: Tears Of Ghost directed by Natasha Dematra
Grand Jury Prize: Joyful journeys directed by Udayakantha Warnasuriya
Grand Jury Prize: 3000 Cups of Tea directed by Jennifer Jordan
Grand Jury Prize: Road to Hope directed by Mike Wargo

Dramatic Directing Award: American Dancer directed by Steven Espinosa, Daniel Lynn
Documentary Directing Award:  The Reality Of Truth directed by Michael Zapolin, Laurent Levy

World Cinema Directing Award: The light inside directed by Stavros Psillakis
World Cinema Directing Award: All in Time directed by Marina Donahue, Chris Fetchko
World Cinema Directing Award: Mama's Home directed by Nikhail Asnani

Excellence in Cinematography Award: Letters from Generation Rx directed by Kevin P. Miller
Excellence in Cinematography Award: Home at Dawn directed by Billy Silva, Guille Isa
Excellence in Cinematography Award: Purple Mouth directed by Sung Wook Park
Excellence in Cinematography Award: Stuck in the Middle directed by Quirine Dongelmand

World Cinema Cinematography Award: Reinventing the Reel directed by Michael J Gorlick
World Cinema Cinematography Award:The Family directed by Shumin Liu
World Cinema Cinematography Award: Silent Brave directed by Jami Ramberan
World Cinema Cinematography Award: One Second Changes Everything directed by Cristhian Andrews

Best Documentary Film Editing: The Man Who Killed John Wayne directed by Diogo Oliveira, Bruno Laet
Best Dramatic Film Editing: Still Closed directed by Mark Datuin
Best Feature Film Screenplay: Love Is All You Need? directed by K. Rocco Shields
Best Short Film Screenplay: The Gift directed by Steve Bastoni

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award: Circles & Stones directed by Rax Rinnekangas
World Cinema Screenwriting Award, Feature Film: Burst Theory directed by Zac Page

World Cinema Screenwriting Award, Short Film: The Sin of Those Who Love Us directed by Vasco de Oliveira

Special Jury Prize, World Cinema Documentary Feature: A Thin Wall directed by Mara Ahmed

Special Jury Prize, World Cinema Documentary Short: Booklyn directed by Paul Szynol
Special Jury Prize, World Cinema Dramatic: Chasing Margaret directed by Chorong Kim
Special Jury Prize, World Cinema Short: Test Drive directed by Jim Ford
Special Jury Prize, World Cinema Music Video: Shishani - Calling you directed by Jerry De Mars
Special Jury Prize, World Cinema Animation: The Golden Drops directed by Daniel Zdunczyk, & Marcin Meczkowski
Special Jury Prize for Spirit of Independence: Popolo directed by Edo Natasha
Special Jury Prize: International Short Filmmaking: Jackie Boy directed by Musashi Alexander

World Cinema: Music Video - Crookers - I Just Can't directed by Joe Zohar
World Cinema: Student - The Kids From Yesterday directed by Pablo Mejia-Lopez
World Cinema: Documentary Feature -Unwritten directed by Amr Singh
World Cinema: Documentary Short- Code Oakland directed by Kelly Amis
World Cinema: Experimental Film Award: The Voyage directed by BJ Formento
World Cinema: Animation: Marcescent directed by Hungling Wu

Best Animation: The Snow Queen 2 directed by Alexey Tsitsilin
Best Comedy: 12 Hungry Men directed by Dave Mackie
Best Documentary Feature:The Road to Home directed by Dominic Brown
Best Drama: The Lobster Kid directed by Joseph Chen-Chieh Hsu
Best Sci-Fi:Noriko directed by Christian Jilka
Best Romance: The Masterful Hermit directed by Reg Noyes
Best Fantasy: Eclipse directed by Artem Makarevich
Best Experimental:Through the mist directed by Maksim Schastnev
Best Family Film: Little Maud directed by Petrina Anne De Souza
Best Documentary Short: The Night Shift directed by Tayo Odesanya
Best Music Video: Lamentation directed by Kirk Kelley
Best Short:  A Way Out directed by Jason Tostevin
Best Thriller: K-SHOP directed by Dan Pringle
Best Student: Welcome directed by Serena Dykman
Best TV Pilot: Lilac directed by Hank Isaac


Feature Screenplay Competition
First Place:Three Stories about Freedom written by Christopher Swider
Second Place:The Slider written by L. Filippo Santaniello
Third Place: PAPA written by Eugene Gavrilenko

Official Finalists
Bar None written by Shell Walker-Cook
Pillars of The Sea written by Tom Warson
Buenos Aires written by Olga Rojer
The unheard flute 281115 written by Paul Gross
Luther's Gang written by Massimiliano Mauceri
Silk And Thorns written by Alonzo Crawford
Tree of Lies written by William Simon
Dietrich Danzig written by John Pisano-Thomsen
Left Bank Bookseller written by Lisa Reznik 
Vacuums and the Whistling Pig written by 


First Place:Twirling At Ole Miss written by John M. Tyson
Second Place:Shattered written by Pamela Guest
Third Place: Rascals written by Tomasz Cichoń & Katarzyna Śliwińska Kłosowicz

Official Finalists
The Disappeared written by Tom Canning

Vodoun written by Stuart Creque
Symposium written by Tom Grady
US Navy Cine-Kodak written by Stephen M. Hunt
Isabel and Her Purple Marker written by M.J. Moneymaker
Super Janet written by Kay Poiro
A Helping Hand written by Sam Gill
Mary in the Gray written by Cesare Joly
Torn written by Ahmed Bouazzaoui


First Place: Lurkers written by Todd Scott
Second Place:Marie’s Nutcracker written by Alex Templeton
Third Place: North Point written by Steve Spremo & David Vlcek

Official Finalists
The Smell of Dragons written by Fergal O’Bryne
From Marseille to Martinique: A Surreal Odyssey written by Michelle N. Harewood

Smoked Out written by Roddy Mancuso
Legacy written by Dr Angus Watts


First Place: Family Guy - What The Phuc?! written by Dave Chan
Second Place:Virtua written by Marina Eve
Third Place: Rue written by Kay Poiro